Roasted Vegetable Orzo

on

2017-04-23-17-50-44

I’ve made it no secret that I struggle with anxiety, and thanks to that, I don’t deal with stress all that great any more. I was great with it in college. Somehow, I thrived on stress. I did my best burning the midnight oil, starting and finishing a paper at the eleventh hour. These days, I break down into an emotional wreck the second something is outta my control. So when I had one crap thing happen after another this last week, I kind of broke down and didn’t do much of anything. Well, I ate. A lot. And not in any sort of good way.

I won’t go into the details of everything I consumed, but by the end of the weekend, I was craving something delicious and healthy and full of healthy things. Thankfully, my meal planning worked out in my favor and I had this lovely dish on the menu. Perfectly done orzo, mixed with roasted sweet potatoes, asparagus, and mushrooms, with a handful of chickpeas thrown in for good measure. Super simple to make, filling, vegan, and uber healthy. Dig in!

Roasted Vegetable Orzo

1 cup orzo
1 large sweet potato, peeled and diced
1 bunch asparagus, ends trimmed and cut into 1″-2″ pieces
10 medium crimini mushrooms, stems removed, cleaned, and quartered
1 cup chickpeas
1 1/2 cups vegetable broth or water
1/2 teaspoon + more kosher salt
black pepper, to taste
2 cloves garlic, minced
glug + 1 Tablespoon of olive oil, separated

  1. Preheat the oven to 425°. Line a baking sheet with tin foil, and coat with cooking spray.
  2. In a bowl, combine the diced sweet potato, asparagus segments, quartered mushroom caps, and minced garlic. Add in the olive oil and toss to coat evenly. Lightly salt and pepper.
  3. Spread out vegetables evenly on the tin foil to create one layer. Roast in the oven for 10-15 minutes until the sweet potatoes are tender. More time may be needed dependent on size of the sweet potato dice.
  4. While the vegetables are roasting, heat a large skillet with 1 Tablespoon olive oil over medium heat. When the oil begins to shimmer, add the dry orzo and toss it around to coat evenly. Let the orzo toast until it’s just starting to brown. Do not burn it.
  5. Once browned, add in the vegetable broth or water, 1/2 teaspoon salt, and pepper to taste. Bring the orzo and liquid to a boil, then lower the heat and cover with a lid. Cook the orzo until tender. You may need to add more liquid along the way. Do so in 1/4 cup increments so as to not flood the orzo.
  6. When the orzo is completely cooked with minimal liquid left, add the roasted vegetables and chickpeas to the skillet. Fold ingredients together and let heat together. There should be no liquid left in the pan by this point.

Preparing and serving this as is keeps the dish vegan, but if that doesn’t matter to you, you can toss in a little crumbled feta.

 

Leave a Reply

