Avocado & Fried Egg Sandwich

Bagel Sandwich

This is a ridiculously easy breakfast or lunch sandwich. This isn’t much of a recipe, but it’s something I feel I need to share, especially because it got quite a few likes on my Instagram when I posted it several weeks ago.

Lunch is my least favorite meal of the day. Have I mentioned this before? I’m constantly running errands around lunch time and it’s easier to grab a bite to eat while I’m out and about. But that adds up, both in money and calories. If I happen to be home, or can make it home from my errands before the Hunger Monster™ rears its ugly head, there’s very little in the way of lunch-esque food available for consumption. I knock back a smoothie for breakfast, and I usually go all-out on dinner – so I really don’t want to make something elaborate for lunch, nor do I want to just scrounge around for a dollop of hummus, a handful of carrots, or junk food. I used to nuke a Lean Cuisine in these times, but I stopped buying them this year in an attempt to cut out more processed food.

So what’s a gal to do?

This sandwich works! It’s a relatively quick fix and it’s a good combination of adequate calories, healthy fats, and enough carbs to fuel me (with a bit of fiber and protein for good measure, to make up for the fact that the white bread bagel lacks vitamins and minerals).

If you’re not a fan of a gooey fried egg, a scrambled one piled on top will be just as good. But that decadence of a canary yellow waterfall cascading over the avocado and pooling onto the bagel can’t be beat.

Avocado & Fried Egg Sandwich

1/2 bagel (everything, whole wheat, sesame, poppy seed, toasted garlic/onion, or plain)
1 large egg
1/2 medium avocado
pinch of salt
pinch of fresh cracked pepper

  1. Toast the bagel of choice.
  2. Mash the avocado and sprinkle with salt.
  3. In a small frying pan, prepare the egg as you prefer. Scramble or fry. Any method of cooking the egg works well for this sandwich. Add black pepper to the finished egg.
  4. Assemble.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

